Crafty Stuffs and Occasional Ranting

Sweet Pics and Pinterest

I just created a new Pinterest account this week, and I am in love with that site!! I don’t know why I waited so long!

(this is one of my pics :D )

I started of course, by feasting my eyes on the most beautiful pictures of all things Shabby Chic. I have Google image searched a lot of things before, but nothing like the ones I found there. It’s so obvious that the pictures  people pin are not so much staged for selling, but pictures of things they truly love. Furniture arrangements, flowers, frames, jars, milk glass, and everything from soup to nuts to decorate. There are a thousand other things that are close to peoples hearts, like celebrities, food, clothes and fashion, and all of the wonderful pictures lead you back to the original photographer or blog page of the author. I know this will be a favorite place for me to be for a long time because there is so much to see, and so many new things to look at every day!

As I went through some of my own beloved pictures to share with the Pinterest community, I ran across a few nice ones I want to share with my readers, though they don’t necessarily belong on Pinterest.

A couple of years ago, my nephew asked me to make him a costume for Halloween. I made all of my own kids costumes (all 4 of them!) for Halloween, and I think they were pretty happy with them if they were able to decide in time what they wanted to ‘be’ , so I would have time to sew them.

My nephew, Little Johnny, (I say ‘Little Johnny ‘ because we still call him that, although he’s almost 6 feet tall now!) asked for a ‘Link’ costume, from the ‘Legend of Zelda’ video games. I have been a huge fan of Link (and so has he, as well as my youngest son, it’s kind of a family thing, and they had a lot of catching up to do!) since the first games came out 25 years ago. I haven’t missed buying and playing all of them. In fact, I am currently at the final ‘boss’ in Skyward Sword. I could be finished now, but I want to keep goofing around looking for heart containers and bottles. If you’re a gamer, you know what I mean. But I’ll get him.

Here’s how his costume turned out.

And heres front and back of a happy camper!

            

He did find a sword, but that I made that shield from cardboard, tape and aluminum foil. The buckles on the front are also made of cardboard and aluminum foil. Link has worn many colored costumes, but this particular green and brown one is the most recognizable of all of them. The materials and other items I used for this project cost me less than $10.00.

I wish I could share this pattern with you, but the truth is that, although I used patterns to make loads of baby and toddler clothes for my kids, (and if you’ve read any of my previous posts then you know) I have no patience for patterns. I have pretty much done  what I call ‘Freestyle Sewing ‘ for about 10 years now. I measure the subject, inseams, waist, hip, arm length etc. And I go by those to make sure it fits. It is actually possible to make very well done sewing projects from your own measurements. I have to believe that, because I know there were a lot of people running around with clothes on before you went shopping for them, and before patterns were so widely available. And again, I’m cheap. If I can do something on my own, why would I pay for a pattern for something I will probably only make once?

So challenge yourself and try a ‘Freestyle Sewing’ project. What’s the worst that could happen, right?

See you next time friends, and keep creating! You never know when you’ll get a million dollar idea!!

Leave a comment