Crafty Stuffs and Occasional Ranting

Archive for January 12, 2012

Crochet Rag Rugs

Here are a few pics of my recent rag rug works…

My Grandma taught me how to cut strips and crochet them together when I was 14 years old. She passed away when I was 20. I have made so many and given them away I can’t even count. My Grandma crocheted rugs for many years, and gave them away too. At the time she passed, she didn’t have a single rug  in her house that she had made.

I was at a friends house recently and spotted a really pretty red, white and blue rag rug. The more I looked, I suddenly realized it was one I had made over 6 years ago. It still looks brand new! I was so happy she still has it, and she still loves it!

I know there are at least 3 more floating around in friends homes that are over 15 years old, and still going strong. I think the last time I made one before now was 6 years ago. Just thought it was time to get back into it. There’s something so cathartic about sitting, cutting strips, rolling them up into a ball, and crocheting. It’s like a form of meditation. I don’t really think about anything but the task at hand. Maybe that’s what my grandma felt too.

  

 

So many possibilities too. You can go with all one color, or add strips in various colors as you crochet. I always have some idea in mind of the colors, but I really never know what it’s going to look like when I’m done. In fact, before this last one (Springtime) was made, I was using the yellow material with some others…I got about 14 rows done and walked away. When I came back I realized it was the most hideous thing I’d ever made. Wayyy too much yellow! So I sat dawn and pulled the whole thing out and started over. That doesn’t happen often, but believe me, it does happen. So don’t get discouraged if the rug you are working on turns out to be an entirely different rug than the beautiful creation you had in your mind. Crochet is very forgiving, just a series of loops. It’s easy to pull it all out and start again.

I get most of my materials from our local St Vincent De Paul thrift store where I volunteer, and some from various thrift stores. Occasionally I find closeout materials at the bigger retail stores too. Very Shabby Chic looks if I stay with the off white and blue, green and pinks. It’s great that a lot of these materials from thrift stores are somewhat older, and some are patterns that aren’t made anymore. It really makes the rugs more vintage looking, and certainly one of a kind.

I have also been working on the crochet cotton dishcloths my neighbor Dorothy Wilson taught me to make when I was about 18. She was like a grandmother to my children from the time they were born until just a few years ago when she passed away. It’s funny that I knew how to make the rugs, but not the cloths. But everyone comes into your life for a reason. I truly miss both of those ladies. I learned a lot more than crocheting from both of them.

I have  an eBay store if you’d like to check it out too :)  I don’t always have things in there for sale, but my recent rugs and dishcloths are there.  (Please feel free to share the link with anyone who may be interested in them, thanks :)

http://www.ebay.com/sch/sweetnsour1966/m.html?item=180791361401&sspagename=STRK%3AMESELX%3AIT&_trksid=p3984.m1555.l2649&_trksid=p4340.l2562

Thanks for stopping by! I love all my blogger friends, and all of my readers!! Feel free to leave a comment, and share any ideas you might like to see in future posts.

Visit my facebook page, and like if you like :)

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Theunforeseeablefuture/173989126015207